Melissafrei’s Weblog

An Evolving Consciousness

The Flag pen

 One of my friends suggested that I clarify exactly what I am attempting to do with my blog and who it is directed at. I agree.  My blogging is simply a catharsis for my own thoughts.  With that said, I am also attempting to reach out to other thoughtful souls who are tortured by what seems like meaningless noise from …….  Yes it is everywhere.  I spoke about democracies in my last post. That’s only because I happen to be in the US and that is how we refer to ourselves.  Comments are welcome from all thoughtful people everywhere, because no matter where you are and your current situation, you are still a citizen of the planet.   Now, let me explore what I was referring to as meaningless noise.  Last week, I had to hold my head in my hands when our news media turned the absence of a flag pen on Senator Obama’s lapel into what they considered a news story.  I think that I was silently screaming……the screams resulted in this blog.  Either someone out there actually believes that you and I are mindless, petty, pawns or that we as citizens o f this country are not intelligent enough to meet the obligations owed to our country and our democracy.  What are these obligations you say?  The first is, “that we are critically able to evaluate noise, marketing, propaganda, whatever you want to call it that comes from these random sources.  I am not going to place this on any one source in particular, because it’s coming from everywhere.  That means that you and I have to be able to critically think about what it is that we are hearing or reading and why it is being said.  I watch as ordinary citizens are being manipulated like pawns on a chessboard…..  Pitted against each other with these ridiculous blurbs and sound bites and the silent screams erupt.    My personal thoughts when I first heard this was that, I truly respect the flag.  I don’t happen to be a flag burner or even a flag wearer, but the flag is a symbol of the ideals.  I cannot get to upset about flag pins before I get upset about

  1. Each of us sitting back and allowing our government to be sold to the highest bidder,

  2. The fact that a majority of what is supposed to be our government (the people, you and I) do not even participate in the most elementary part of our government (we do not vote)

  3. The lack of fiscal responsibility in our government (whether they raise taxes or not, they are still funneling money to their cronies). 

 As you can see, I didn’t have the energy to get upset about the flag pen.

Quote of the day

Keeping the promise of our founding – the promise of America – means keeping faith with our values.  But keeping faith, while often enormously difficult , is not a burden.  It is our greatest source of strength.  It is what knits us together, what motivates us and moves us forward, and what connects us to other nations.    Our values keep America strong by binding us together.  By committing and recommitting ourselves to our ideals, we have forged a common American identity.  It is what makes e pluribus unum – “out of many, one” -possible. 

Anne-Marie Slaughter

THE IDEA THAT IS AMERICA

http://www.ideathatisamerica.com/

1 Comment»

  Karen wrote @

thanks melissafrei, i welcome the discourse. you are not the only one that feels like this. think i will go and buy that book.


Leave a Reply

