Melissafrei’s Weblog

An Evolving Consciousness

Red or Blue

Today let’s discuss the boxes, let’s discuss the things that supposedly separate us.   What am I? Red or Blue?   

Well, these are some of the beliefs and ideas that I hold today.  I say today, because, I happen to live in a dynamic universe.  Things are always changing.  As I am exposed to different information, these beliefs and ideas shift and change.  I think that you may call this growth, learning, evolution……. I also think that this should be occurring unless I happen to be dead.  But, this is my belief today.   

  1. I happen to be Pro Choice and Anti abortion.  This means that before anything, I believe that I have no right to tell another person what to do with or to their body.  This goes for smoking cigarettes, wearing a seat belt, and taking drugs.  At the same time, I also believe that people should have all the information needed to make informed decisions about their choices.  For me, abortion has always been defined as my choice to kill my child before he or she reaches their first trimester in my body for whatever reason I may have.  It could be rape, or incest, or lack of control over my own life to the degree that I would not want to inflict that on my on flesh and blood (my child).  Please note, that I said, that this is how I have defined abortion for me.  With that said, that core belief has led me to be Pro Choice for all of us and Anti abortion for me personally.  I will have much more to say about this topic later. 

  2. I happen to believe in term limits of no more than three terms for Senators and three terms for Representatives. http://www.cato.org/pubs/handbook/hb105-5.html 

  3. I want a balanced budget amendmenthttp://www.cagw.org/site/PageServer?pagename=homePage

  4. I want an educational system that provides the highest level of education whether the child is in the suburbs of California or the poorest county in Mississippi.  I believe that all of our children should be fluent in a minimum of two languages before they leave high school and three by the time they graduate from college.  They should have math classes every semester through out their educational experience along with physical education.  I will have more to say about this topic at a later date also.

  5. I want universal health care.

  6. I believe in capital punishment for mass murderers, serial killers, and pedophiles.  I chose these particular criminals because there is usually a preponderance of evidence against them.  I don’t believe that we can be that certain in other cases.  I also believe that this should be the law in every state.  Whether you commit mass murder in Texas or Rhode Island, the penalty should be the same.

  7. I believe in the “Right to bear arms” as stated in the constitution and I also believe in “Gun Control”.

What am I? Red or Blue? 

Quotes for the day

Politics – I don’t know why, but they seem to have a tendency to separate us, to keep us from one another, while nature is always and ever making efforts to bring us together. 

~Sean O’Casey
 

There are many men of principle in both parties in America, but there is no party of principle. 

 ~Alexis de Tocqueville

2 Comments»

  TLS wrote @

What an amazing blog! It is thought-provoking, inspiring and informative. It also personally highlights the fact that I am not in tune to my political self. I think I will use your blog as a source of a much-needed education. You have great links to so much information.

SO just for the record, I am Pro-Choice and
Anti-abortion (for myself) as well. I also believe in a national health-care system. I too believe education should be at an even level for all in this country…and that our educated children should be bi/tri-lingual and overall know more – so that they can be on a level playing field with their non-American
peers. I as well have passions and loyalties that are deep and pretty consistent but certainly may be subject to change based on this
ever-evolving/back-tracking world…but for now, I live comfortably in a blue state
frame-of-mind.

  melissafrei wrote @

Thanks TLS, stop by anytime. I am glad to know that I am not alone out here.


Leave a Reply

