Melissafrei’s Weblog

An Evolving Consciousness

The Presidential Candidates….a real opportunity

The pundits have narrowed the fields in both the Republican and Democratic races.  For the first time since I have been old enough to vote, I actually feel that I have choices. I am sincerely hoping that we do not buy into the media hype that is being played out on the political stage.  This race is not just between those candidates that the establishment has elected to toss money and support to.  We still have a wide open race and we will have that until the last primary takes place. 

Candidates like Bill Richardson , Joe Biden and John McCain have impeccable foreign policy credentials.  They each have laid out in detail their philosophies regarding foreign policy and how they would proceed to rebuild our relationships around the world.  The War on Terror has ignited hot spots all over the globe from Pakistan, Turkey, Afghanistan, to Georgia 

Others like Dennis Kucinich, Mike Huckabee, Ron Paul and Chris Dodd appear to possess a true integrity and would make every attempt to do what is in the best interest of the country and not their individual parties.  

 I was rather surprised and delighted with the American people in the 2006 midyear election.  We demonstrated that we can move government when we truly have the will to do so.   I am mentally laying out my priorities for what I would like to see the next administration focus on and perhaps that will allow me to get somewhat closer to who I am going to support. 

  • Foreign Policy issues will more than likely be at the forefront of American politics for some time to come so my candidate must have a strong foreign policy background.  It will be essential that we elect someone who has the ability to speak the language of diplomacy and at the same time possess the experience and wisdom that will allow them to execute policy decisions.

  • Possessing a strategic economic domestic vision is also extremely important to me.  By this, I do not mean more of the same stances of globalization, importing goods and exporting jobs.  I would like to see a well managed trade policy and a refocus of education in this country.  We need someone who will not put the interest of multinational corporations and profits before the people of this country.

  • Next, I would want someone who is GREEN thinking.  How can we become a leader in the world on environmental practices and innovation?  We should be first in producing new forms of energy and transportation. 

  • Finally, I want someone who is serious about Universal Healthcare.

We have a real OPPORTUNITY to shift the POLITICAL PARADIGM in our country. That is…..if we have the WILL and the COURAGE to take a stand.  

4 Comments»

  sroperator wrote @

“It will be essential that we elect someone who has the ability to speak the language of diplomacy”

I could not agree with you more on this point. That’s why I believe Giuliani would not make a good president and just another war hawk. Especially when I here him say tired clichés like “they hate us for our freedom”. That’s just scares me to high heaven if we have a president in office who actually believes that.

I just can’t understand why he is a front runner, just another example of people buying into media hype and stardom.

  melissafrei wrote @

sroperator, I can relate to what you are saying. I do believe that Mr. Giuliani continues to play into the fear that many of us have regarding terrorism. What happened to us on
9-11 was a horrendous criminal act…….. the first that had occurred on our soil by individuals that were not our own citizens. I personally believe that Bin Laden deserved to be hunted down and brought to justice just as any criminal should be. I am extremely disappointed that this never occurred and that our resources and world support have been squandered. I hope and pray that we will look deeply within ourselves. We must be rational, well informed citizens to elect people who will actually act in the best interest of our country. We did make an understandable mistake, but we have the OPPORTUNITY to correct it.

By that, I do not mean just pulling troops out of IRAQ, but an entire re-evaluation of our foreign policy, especially our Middle East policies. Let’s be true patriots and take our roles seriously.

  The Hot Potato wrote @

melissafrei! Your candidate is Dennnis Kucinich, you just don’t seem to realize it yet but I do hope you will!

You wrote

* Possessing a strategic economic domestic vision is also extremely important to me. By this, I do not mean more of the same stances of globalization, importing goods and exporting jobs. I would like to see a well managed trade policy and a refocus of education in this country. We need someone who will not put the interest of multinational corporations and profits before the people of this country.

* Next, I would want someone who is GREEN thinking. How can we become a leader in the world on environmental practices and innovation? We should be first in producing new forms of energy and transportation.

* Finally, I want someone who is serious about Universal Healthcare.

* Kucinich is the ONLY candidate who will take matters of life and death out of the hands of the insurance companies. He’s the ONLY one who supports universal NOT-FOR-PROFIT healthcare – HR 676.

* Kucinich is THE GREEN CANDIDATE. He will create a Works Green Administration, creating millions of green jobs while restoring our environment and securing the US’s energy independence. He supports organic farmers and the labeling of GMO’s in food. He is not bought out by corporate interests that profit from pollution. He will end nuclear power, which is one of the most dangerous pollutants to the environment out there. Instead, he will invest in renewable energies and relocalize economies.

* It is Kucinich who “will not put the interest of multinational corporations and profits before the people of this country.” He is the ONLY candidate who will cancel NAFTA & the WTO, bringing jobs back to the US and ensuring safety standards, workers right, and environmental quality principles in all trading.

Kucinich needs your help on December 15, 2007. Please check it out at http://www.december152007.com.

Thanks and peace. KUCINICH IS PRESIDENT! If you want it.
action.dennis4president.com

  melissafrei wrote @

He is certainly a candidate that I would like to see more in the center of our politics. I hope someone will give him a cabinet position if he is not elected. As you can see, I still have not decided who I will be supporting. I am savoring the idea that I have real choices this time around.


Leave a Reply

