Melissafrei’s Weblog

An Evolving Consciousness

Choices, choices

Well, I have finally narrowed my choices down to four candidates for the primaries.  My choices currently are:

  1.  John McCain
  2. Barack Obama
  3. John Edwards and…
  4. Mike Huckabee

Now, I can see the look on some of your faces.  This is a rather different group of people.  What do they all have in common? 

First, I believe that any one of these individuals represents change at a presidential level.  They all say what they feel is the best for this country regardless of where they are ranking in the polls on any particular day.  I have decided that for me, this election is about change and my individual role in bringing this about.  

Second, each of them is elect able.  Yes, I did say elect able, that is if you and I will elect them.  I will let you ruminate on that.  

Third, even though there were other candidates, like Biden, Dodd, and Richardson who have strong qualifications to hold the office of President, they just simply have not been able to effectively get out their message.  I would still love to see any of these three as VP candidates on the ticket.   

I had thrown out political parties quite some time ago and left that to the “POLITICAL ELITE”, those that profit or perhaps see politics as a game of some sort.  I would personally take the most delight at the end of the primary season to see that the people have selected Obama and Huckabee as the nominees.  Why would I be perfectly giddy with this outcome?  Because this would be the outcome that the “POLITICAL ELITES” never thought would come into fruition.  Even though, the media has been quite friendly to Obama, they counted on a population of fearful, biased, uneducated people to never elect someone who had an African ancestry.   

Huckabee on the other hand is the nightmare of those who profit off of division.  He is probably the closest that we have seen in the last twenty years to a true “Compassionate Conservative”.  Now, I know that there are those who will pull out the list: his views on abortion, homosexuality, taxes, immigration, ect.  Well, even though I differ with him on some of these issues, I am counting on the integrity that I believe that this man possesses. 

McCain, well, he is simply someone who I respect for his consistent sound judgment, integrity and service to our country.  He is also someone who places the welfare of this country before his own personal gain and political party.   

Edwards on the other hand has been signaling that he has intentions of taking Washington by storm.  I simply would not mind seeing exactly what that would look like.  I could be disappointed but I am betting on him as the strongest change agent in the race.  

The one thing that I know for sure is that I am extremely tired of the lies, and corruption in Washington DC and throughout our society as a whole and will accept my personal responsibility for my contribution to it which is just being silent and apathetic.   

I am a better person than that and we are a better country than that.     

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

